2017 Pillars of Strength & Crystal Apple Business & Education Awards

Annual award show is a big hit at Lower Columbia College

The Kelso Longview Chamber of Commerce hosted its annual awards event The Pillars of Strength & Crystal Apple Business & Education Awards, on May 3rd, 2017 at Lower Columbia College, to recognize and celebrate those in business and education that have excelled this year.

The Chamber’s Education Foundation Committee and The Lower Columbia Professionals Committee (LCP) awarded 14 scholarships to selected seniors at the event. The Education Foundation Committee awarded $7,000 in scholarships to four deserving seniors. The Chamber’s Lower Columbia Professionals Committee awarded $12,000 in scholarships to eleven deserving seniors, totaling $19,000 in Chamber scholarships awarded this year. The Chamber would like to thank its members for voluntary contributions to the Education Foundation Scholarship Fund and for attending Lower Columbia Professionals monthly events where all proceeds go toward the Lower Columbia Professionals Scholarship fund.

In addition to recognizing scholarship recipients, we also celebrated our Pillars of Strength & Crystal Apple Business and Education nominees and recipients of the year. Following you can find the list of our winners:  

Higher Education Teachers of the Year: Amber Lemiere & Louis LaPierre (LCC)

Higher Education Support Person of the Year: Jodi Dahlke (LCC)

K-12 Administrator of the Year: Ray Cattin (Wallace Elementary School)

K-12 Classified Person of the Year: Maria Rodriguez (Kelso School District)

K-12 Teacher of the Year:  Pam Bauman (Kelso School District)

Workforce Education Individual Achievement: Kathy Miller, Red Canoe Credit Union

Workforce Education Business: Millennium Bulk Terminals

Small Business of the Year: Gibbs & Olson

Large Business of the Year: Foster Farms

Small Non-Profit of the Year: Emergency Support Shelter

Large Non-Profit of the Year: Lifeworks

Business Person of the Year: Ryan Grady, ServPro

Rising Star: John Paul, KUKN, KLOG, The Wave

Ambassador of the Year: Teedara Garn

We congratulate all of the 2017 nominees, winners and scholarship recipients for your wonderful achievements and contributions to our community. We also would like to thank the following sponsors for their generosity for assisting us with this event: Millennium Bulk Terminals, Davis & Associates CPA’s, Gibbs & Olson, Lifeworks, Scott Fisher - State Farm Insurance, Rodman Realty, Red Canoe Credit Union, Three Rivers Mall, Woodford Commercial Real Estate, Nick Lemiere - Edward Jones, Foster Farms, KUKN/KLOG/The Wave, Copies Today, Engraving Emporium, Jansen’s Flowers, PeaceHealth, Lower Columbia College, C’s Photography, and Bi-Coastal Media.